AnelaTek Solutions Sdn Bhd is an innovative and unique security technology solutions provider based in Malaysia. We provide state-of-the-art security solutions for government agencies and medium to large commercial enterprises with a need for advanced security technology.

anelatek2020 November 17, 2023 No Comments


No alternative text description for this image


Optical fiber is a thin, transparent strand of GLASS or PLASTIC that transmits #DATA using

#LIGHT_PULSES, enabling high-speed communication over long distances in telecommunications and networking.



Single-mode fiber (SMF) is an optical fiber designed for transmitting a #SINGLE_MODE or #RAY_of_LIGHT, featuring a small core diameter (typically 9 microns) & a cladding diameter of about 125 microns.

The ITU-T (International Telecommunication Union – Telecommunication Standardization Sector) classifications.

ITU-T Single Mode Fiber Categorization is based on #WAVELENGHTH_optimized properties includes:

ITU-T G.652 (Standard SMF): Commonly referred to as “standard SMF,” optimized for 1310 nm wavelength, suitable for various long-distance applications, such as telecommunications and data transmission.

ITU-T G.653 (Dispersion-Shifted Fiber): Designed to minimize dispersion in the 1550 nm wavelength range, beneficial for long-haul telecommunications systems.

ITU-T G.654 (Cut-off Wavelength Shifted Fiber): Engineered with a longer cut-off wavelength (around 1550 nm) for specific applications requiring extended wavelength ranges.

ITU-T G.655 (Non-Zero Dispersion-Shifted Fiber): Engineered for controlled dispersion properties at specific wavelengths, ideal for dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) systems.

IEC Classification:

OS1 and OS2 are classifications for single-mode optical fibers, defined by the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC):

OS1: Optimized for a wavelength of 1310 nm.

OS2:Optimized for a wavelength of 1550 nm.


Multi-mode fiber (MMF) carries #MULTIPLE_LIGHTS modes through its core simultaneously, differing from SM fiber by allowing multiple modes to travel through its larger core typically 50μm or 62.5μm.

IEC/ISO11801 Classification of MM Fiber:

MMF is classified by the term “OM” (Optical Multimode) followed by a number denoting BANDWIDTH & PERFORMANCE. The higher the OM number, the better the performance, & typically, the greater the bandwidth.

OM classifications simplify fiber selection:

OM1 (62.5/125 µm):
Bandwidth: 200 MHz·km at 850 nm. Speed: 10/100 Mbps and 1 Gbps Ethernet applications. Applications: Short-distance LAN connections, data centers, & premise cabling.

OM2 (50/125 µm):
Bandwidth: 500 MHz·km at 850 nm. Speed: 1 Gbps Ethernet applications. Applications: Short-distance, high-speed LAN connections and premise cabling.

OM3 (50/125 µm):
Bandwidth: 2000 MHz·km at 850 nm. Speed: 10 Gbps Ethernet, some 40 Gbps and 100 Gbps applications. Applications: High-speed, short-distance connections in data centers and high-performance LANs.

OM4 (50/125 µm):
Bandwidth: 4700 MHz·km at 850 nm. Speed: 10 Gbps, 40 Gbps, 100 Gbps Ethernet, 200 Gbps, and 400 Gbps. Applications: Ideal for high-speed, short-distance connections, especially in data center environments.

Disclaimer – This post has only been shared for an educational and knowledge-sharing purpose related to Technologies. Information was obtained from the source above source. All rights and credits are reserved for the respective owner(s).

Keep learning and keep growing

Source: LinkedIn

Credits: Mr. Mohammed Rafiq’s Post

Marketplace - LinkedIn





Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *